Sign up for PM Award Updates!

Russia blacklists 49 UK citizens, including journalists

June 14, 2022

Russia on Tuesday said it was blacklisting 49 UK citizens, including defence officials and prominent journalists from the BBC, The Financial Times and The Guardian.

“The British journalists on the list are involved in the deliberate dissemination of false and one-sided information about Russia and the events in Ukraine and Donbass,” the Russian foreign ministry said in a statement. Among the journalists who have been banned entry to Russia are Shaun Walker of The Guardian, Gideon Rachman of The Financial Times and political analyst Mark Galeotti.

Dispatches from AFP concerning freedom of information, censorship and news coverage in regions where independent media is under threat.