Sign up for PM Award Updates!

Assailants of PMA-winner Akhmedyarov convicted

July 11, 2013

Four persons accused of attacking Kazakh journalist Lukpan Akhmedyarov in April 2012 were convicted and sentenced to jail terms between 11 and 15 years the Committee to Protect Journalists (CPJ) reported.
Akhmedyarov, a journalist with the Uralskaya Nedelya received the Peter Mackler Award for Courageous and Ethical Journalism in October 2012. (Please see June 24th post on this blog)
CPJ emphasised that the masterminds behind Akhmedyarov’s attack should be apprehended.
“Authorities deserve credit for bringing the assailants to justice, but their work is not done,” said Muzaffar Suleymanov, CPJ’s Europe and Central Asia researcher. “The people who plotted this vicious assault must be apprehended and prosecuted.”
“Akhmedyarov told Uralskaya Nedelya in an April interview that he believed regional authorities had ordered the attack. ‘The probe against masterminds is ongoing, and I hope that we will learn the overall picture of the crime,'” said CPJ.
Dispatches from AFP concerning freedom of information, censorship and news coverage in regions where independent media is under threat.