Sign up for PM Award Updates!

CPJ Awards Four Journalists’ Struggle For Press Freedom

November 26, 2013
The International Press Freedom Award Dinner 2012 (Pic. CPJ)

The 23rd annual International Press Freedom Award sponsored by the New York-based Committee to Protect Journalists (CPJ) will be held this evening to recognise the struggle for media freedom.
The black tie event, to be hosted this year by Scott Pelley, managing editor CBS Evening News, at New York’s Waldorf Astoria, will honour four journalists from Ecuador, Egypt, Turkey and Vietnam, who work in perilous environments for the freedom of the media and access to information.

“The awardees – Janet Hinostroza (Teleamazonas, Ecuador), Bassem Youssef (Egypt), Nedim Åžener (Posta, Turkey) and Nguyen Van Hai (Dieu Cay, Vietnam) – are confronting severe reprisals for their work, including legal harassment, physical threats, and imprisonment,” says CPJ in a statement released soon after the four awardees were selected.
 Nguyen Van Hai will not be present to collect his award. He is serving a 12-year prison sentence for “conducting propaganda” against the Vietnamese State.
CPJ will also award Paul Steiger, founding editor-in-chief of ProPublica the Burton Benjamin Memorial Award for lifetime achievement in the cause of press freedom, said CPJ.
One of the winners in 2012, Brazilian journalist Mauri Konig of Gazeto de Povo, said in his acceptance speech at last year’s event, “Today I feel that I am the most privileged of journalists. First, to be alive and have escaped situations that really could have ended badly; second, because the newspaper where I work, Gazeta do Povo, understands the necessity of the journalism I do; and thirdly, for receiving this prize from the Committee to Protect Journalists, a recognition that stems not from a particular report, but rather from a lifetime of covering issues of public interest.”
Read more about the annual International Media Freedom Awards and the four winners for 2013 here

Dispatches from AFP concerning freedom of information, censorship and news coverage in regions where independent media is under threat.