Sign up for PM Award Updates!

Zaina Erhaim is the 2015 Peter Mackler Award winner. Ms Erhaim is a 30-year old Syrian journalist who lives and works in Aleppo, Syria. Over the last two years inside Syria, she has trained about 100 citizen reporters, approximately a third of them women, in print and TV journalism, and has helped establish many of the new emerging independent newspapers and magazines in the war torn country. “Zaina Erhaim is a force multiplier of journalistic values in a country torn by violence and irrationality,” said Camille Mackler. “We salute her courage, upholding professional ethics and bringing them to the service of those left to write history.” The Award ceremony was held at the National Press Club in Washington DC and was followed by a panel discussion on Syria, war reporting and the role of citizen journalists with McClatchy Newspapers' Hannah Allam, BuzzFeed News’ Miriam Elder, and Mashable’s Louise Roug.

Asma Shirazi is the 2014 winner of the Peter Mackler Award for Courageous and Ethical Journalism. Ms Shirazi is the host of an authoritative talk show on Pakistan’s Dawn News Television. Shirazi was Pakistan’s first female war correspondent. Undeterred by threats and personal risk, she has demonstrated courage, professionalism and dedication in the search for the truth. In her acceptance speech at the National Press Club in Washington DC, Shirazi spoke out against “brutality” against reporters in her country as she expressed hope for greater freedom for the news media. The Washington Post's Pamela Constable, in her keynote address, highlighted "It’s not easy to be a woman in Pakistan, or a journalist who is committed to seeking, speaking or writing the truth. It is especially hard to be both."

Faisal Mohamed Salih, reporter, editor, columnist and journalism teacher in Sudan, is the winner of the 2013 Peter Mackler Award for Courageous and Ethical Journalism. The keynote speaker, Ambassador Princeton N. Lyman, was U.S. special envoy for Sudan and senior advisor on North-South negotiations. The award ceremony was held at the National Press Club in Washington DC, Thursday October 24th.

Lukpan Akhmedyarov has survived professional harassment, official censorship, and a murder attempt to press for human rights and independent journalism in Kazakhstan. In April, the 36-year-old vocal critic of the authoritarian central government was confronted outside his home in the northwestern city of Uralsk by several attackers and was clubbed about the head, stabbed and shot […]

Radio Progreso news editor Karla Rivas paid tribute Thursday to the 16 journalists killed in her native Honduras since a 2009 military coup as she received the Peter Mackler Award for courageous and ethical journalism. The 33-year-old Rivas — the first woman to receive the award named for an Agence France-Presse (AFP) reporter and editor who died […]

« Newer Older »