Ilya Barabanov, 2010 PMA recipient, at work in an undated photo. © Ilya Barabonov
Karla Rivas (right) with Catherine Antoine, Mackler's widow, at the National Press Club in October 2012. © PMA
Lukpan Akhmedyarov, 2012 PMA recipient, was clubbed, stabbed and shot for his reports on corruption. © Lukpan Akhmedyarov
Karla Rivas (second from left) covers a community meeting. © Karla Rivas
Ilya Barabanov is led away by police during the riots that followed the Pussy Riot verdict on August 17, 2012 in Moscow. © Ilya Barabanov
PMA Slide 3 Part Cuffs Final
Sri lanka prison officials escort Tamil journalist J.S. Tissainayagam (center) to a prison bus in Colombo on August 31, 2009 © AFP/Ishara S. Kodikara

About The Peter Mackler Award

The Peter Mackler Award honors reporters and editors who have demonstrated a commitment to fairness, accuracy and speaking truth to power, and a matching commitment to asserting the right to publish or air that story in countries where independent media is under threat.

Media News

Uganda journalist told to pay fine or face jail October 17, 2014

A Ugandan journalist was fined and ordered to pay damages or face jail Friday after he accused a government official of corruption, a case that has raised concern among rights groups. Ronald Ssembuusi, 25, a correspondent for Central Broadcasting Service [...]

Six Myanmar journalists jailed over report: press group October 17, 2014

Six Myanmar journalists have been jailed by a Yangon court for “state defamation”, the country’s interim press council said Friday, amid mounting concern over a roll back of press freedom in the former junta-run state. The five editorial [...]


Asma Shirazi is the 2014 winner of the Peter Mackler Award for Courageous and Ethical Journalism. Ms Shirazi is the host of an authoritative talk show on Pakistan’s Dawn News Television.

Shirazi was Pakistan’s first female war correspondent. Undeterred by threats and personal risk, she has demonstrated courage, professionalism and dedication in the search for the truth.

Constable is South Asia correspondent for the Washington Post. She has been covering South Asia since 1999, and spent four years as the Post’s bureau chief for the region. She is the author of several books, among them “Playing with Fire – Pakistan at war with itself” deemed by the New York Times “key to understanding this much misunderstood country.”

The award ceremony will be held at the National Press Club in Washington DC, Thursday October 23rd at 6pm. The event is open to the public and registration is required.